Scholastic Art Awards

National Notification Day is here!: March 17, 2014: Our region is well represented!:  8 GOLD MEDALS and 12 SILVER MEDALS were awarded to artists from our region! Congratulations!

American Vision Award: Madeline Lasota

National Gold Medal winners:
Josiah Brace, Ellie Hathaway, Abbey Kagel, Cameron Kanczuzewski, Abigail Peters, Megan Smith, and Ashleigh Tarkington, (2)

National Silver Medal winners:
Joan Becker, Deron Corbin, Brenda Cuevas, Jasmine Feder, Madeline Gallagher, Alyssa Hostetler, Maddie Lantz, Alex Mroz, Brooklyn Parsons, Megan Smith, Mackensie Swift, Alondra Zamora

Download a detailed list of the national winners from our region. (pdf) _________________________________________________

The South Bend Museum of Art is now the affiliate for the Scholastic Art Awards’ Northwest Indiana and Southwest Lower Michigan Region. This region includes the following counties: INDIANA counties of Benton, Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Stark, White; and MICHIGAN counties of Berrien, Cass and St. Joseph.

Students in grade 7 – 12 are eligible to submit artwork. For more information, visit the Regional Website or contact SAA coordinator Candie Waterloo at,

Watch the WNDU video!

2014 Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition
February 1 thru March 1, 2014

2014 Awards

27 jurors, comprised of visual artists, educators and art professionals, carefully selected the works from among the 2554 entries. 500 were selected for the exhibition. Jurors look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.

Download (pdf) a list of the 2014 award winners.

Visit the national website for more information.


The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards is generously supported by Scholastic Inc., the Maurice R. Robinson Fund, The New York Times, the Institute for Museum and Library Services, the President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities, Command Web Offset Co., the AMD Foundation, Blick Art Materials, the National Endowment for the Arts, 3D Systems, New York Life, Bloomberg L.P., Ovation,, the Jacques and Natasha Gelman Trust, the Bernstein Family Foundation, Duck Tape®, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and contributions from numerous other individual, foundation, and corporate funders.

The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, identifies teenagers with exceptional artistic and literary talent and brings their remarkable work to a national audience through the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Founded in 1923, the Awards program is the longest-running, most prestigious program of its kind, having fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students through recognition, exhibitions and publications. Over the past five years, students have submitted 920,000 works of art and writing) and over $40 million has been made available in scholarships and awards to top winning participants. The Alliance partners with 116 regional affiliates across the country to bring the program to local communities, and works with a network of more than 60 colleges and universities to increase scholarship and award opportunities. With the President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities and the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Alliance is a founding partner of the National Student Poets Program, the country’s highest honor for youth poets, which selects five students exclusively from current Scholastic Art & Writing Award national poetry winners. More information about the Alliance and its programs can be found at



CONTRIBUTORS, 2013/14 (as of Jan. 29, 2014)

Arts Everywhere Initiative, Community Foundation of St. Joseph County
Florence V. Carroll Charitable Trust
Macy’s Foundation
The Pokagon Fund

Organizations and Corporations
Alick’s Home Medical
The Carriage House Dining Room and Gardens
Indiana Women’s Caucus for Art
Kappa, Kappa, Kappa
Northern Indiana Artists
Northern Indiana Pastel Society
The Progress Club
St. Joe Valley Watercolor Society
South Bend Hoosier Art Patrons

Bob & Pam Beam
Lynn Blue
Ann F. Bowers
Marsha Brook
Dayle Brown & David Piser
John & Mary Ann Butkovich
Jack Champaigne
Judith Chase
James F. Cooke
Mary Ann Matthews Derda
Ann Divine
Debbie Dulcet
Lucy Emery
Michelle & Alan Engel
Kyle P. Everett
Steve & Barbara Fredman
Bill & Leslie Gitlin
Richard Gray & Liz Garver
Lea Goldman
Holly Goodson & Michael Hildreth
Paul & Laura Guentert
Dr. & Mrs. Walter Halloran
Ann Hamilton
Thomas & Eileen Hughes
Michael Kelly & Robert Hohl
Mr. & Mrs. Bob Kill
Doug & Marjorie Kinsey
Jon & Edwina Kintner
Paul & Natalie Klein
William & Julia Knight
Kathryn Kramer
Judy Ladd
Tuck & Janice Langland
William & JoAnne Lopatin
Phoebe Lykowski
Suzanne Mauro
Birdie McElroy
Stephen & Connie McTigue
Ron & Jeanne Monsma
Dr. & Mrs. Charles F. Nelson
Barbara Roche
Barbara Rogan
Steve & Annette Romans
Charles & Carol Rosenberg
Bob & Debbie Rosenfeld
Gertrude Rubin
L. Brown & Mary Sanders
William & Diane Sarnat
Barry Shein & Cari Groman Shein
Lynda B. & Charles S. Simon
Richard Q. & Joyce Stifel
George & Barbara Stump
Laurence & Jeanette Taylor
Maria Tomasula
Posi Tucker
Linda Waelchli
James & Carole Walton
Tim & Jackie Welsh
Judy Wenig-Horswell
Craig & Cyndy Wilson
Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Wind
Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Wolfe
Gloria Wolvos
Harold & Doreen Zisla
image courtesy of Midwest Photographics.
  • Sign up for e-news

  • Follow us:

    FacebookTwitterYouTubeRSS feed
  • The Dot Shop

  • Scholastics Art Awards